Visa issuance at border crossing points

The Republic of Croatia shall fully apply the Schengen acquis as a Member State of the Schengen area from 01 January 2023

The visa regime of the Republic of Croatia is part of the Union acquis.
From 1 January 2023, Croatian diplomatic missions and consular posts shall issue Schengen visas, namely: airport transit visa (A visa), short-term visa (C visa) and national long-term visa (D visa).
A foreigner who needs a visa to enter the Republic of Croatia is obliged to obtain one before entering the Republic of Croatia, however, it can exceptionally be issued at the border crossing point when the foreigner was unable to obtain a visa in diplomatic consular offices, and has documents proving that there are unforeseen and urgent reasons for issuing it at the border crossing.
A visa may be issued at the border crossing point:
  • for a stay of up to 15 days,
  • for transit purposes,
  • a seafarer for transit purposes.
A visa issued at a border crossing point is a uniform visa (Schengen visa) and is issued only in exceptional cases, with a maximum duration of up to 15 days.
No visas shall be issued at the border crossing point to third-country nationals falling within the category of persons requiring prior authorisation, in accordance with Annex 16. The Visa Code Handbook (Visa).
In case an exception needs to be made for humanitarian reasons, national interest reasons or international obligations, such a person will be issued a visa with limited territorial validity (so-called LTV visa) and will be valid only for the Republic of Croatia.
In the Republic of Croatia, visas can be issued at the following border crossings:
with the Republic of Serbia
  • Erdut
  • Bajakovo 
with Montenegro
  • Karasovići 
with Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Županja
  • Slavonski Brod
  • Stara Gradiška
  • Maljevac
  • Jasenovac
  • Hrvatska Kostajnica
  • Ličko Petrovo Selo
  • Kamensko
  • Vinjani Donji
  • Metković 
border crossings on rivers
  • Slavonski brod
  • Osijek
  • Vukovar
maritime border crossing points
  • Rijeka
  • Ploče
  • Zadar
  • Šibenik
  • Split
  • Dubrovnik
  • Raša-Bršica
  • Umag
  • Pula
  • Mali Lošinj
  • Ubli
  • Vis
  • Cavtat 
air border crossing points
  • Zagreb
  • Pula
  • Rijeka
  • Zadar
  • Split
  • Dubrovnik
  • Osijek
  • Mali Lošinj
  • Brač 
When applying for a visa at the border crossing point, the foreign national is required to complete and sign the visa application form, have a valid passport that must have at least two blank pages to enter the visa and be issued in the last 10 years, and its validity period must be at least three months longer than the date on which it is intended to leave the Schengen area, attach a valid photograph, give fingerprints (if previously not exempted in the last 59 months), provide proof of the visa fee paid and documentation relating to the proof of the purpose of the stay, the means of subsistence and the possibility of returning to the country of origin or the possibility of entering a third country.
The administrative fee for the visa issued shall be EUR 80.